Succulents types

Types of succulents

Before proceeding with the description of the main families of succulents, it is necessary to describe what is the characteristic that unites them all. Succulents are thus erroneously called to describe all those specimens capable of retaining water from watering or that coming from rains within their tissues. The right term to use is succulents, plants with one characteristic in common but belonging to different families. The types of succulents are not yet all well defined because new ones are discovered every year. In addition to the characteristic of maintaining water, all types of succulents share their areas of origin: the Gobi and Sahara desert, the Andes of Chile and Peru, the desert of Mexico and Namibia. All these places have a very hot and humid climate. The families in which succulents are distinguished are: Agavaceae, Aizoaceae, Aloaceae, Apocynaceae, Asclepiadaceae, Cactaceae, Asteraceae, Commelinaceae, Crassulacae, Liliaceae and Euphorbiaceae.

Types of succulents: Aizoaceae

Among the many types of succulents some belong to the Aizoaceae family. The main feature of these specimens is the ability to transform their apparatus with the aim of becoming succulents or succulents. To this family belong: Lithops, Lampranthus and Conophytum. Lithops has an aesthetic structure very similar to the other two species; it has two leaves connected together in such a way as to form a sort of fleshy stem very similar to stones, for this reason it is also called living stone or stone plant. Lampranthus is a widespread species in arid climate areas. It is a rustic succulent plant and therefore that adapts to any environmental condition, develops like a bush and is widely used for the construction of flower beds. The Conophytum perennial plant has a conformation very similar to Lithops; it is native to South Africa and Namibia. The aerial part is very similar to stones joined together, in fact, the area of ​​greatest development is precisely between the stones, in the arid areas and also in the mountain ones.

Types of succulents: Cactaceae

In the Cactaceae family all those types of succulent plants that have a root system capable of reaching a certain depth are grouped. This characteristic is influenced by the arid and dry environment in which the cacti developed, through the roots they came in search of the water they need. These specimens are devoid of leaves, photosynthesis takes place thanks to the stem. The word “cactus” derives from the Greek and means plant with thorns precisely because these specimens are provided with this sort of quills of various shapes and sizes. It is good to know that the thorns are nothing more than the leaves transformed with the passage of time. Photosynthesis is carried out during the night so as not to lose water following the opening of the stamens. The inflorescences are very particular, solitary, colorful and some remain on the plant for a few hours a day. A sugary substance covers the very fleshy fruits (pollinated by hummingbirds, diurnal or nocturnal butterflies) composed of innumerable seeds.

Succulents types: Types of succulents: Crassulaceae

About three thousand types of succulents belong to the Crassulaceae family, which grow all over the world with the exception of Polynesia and Australia. These are simple specimens to grow, used to adorn gardens or the interiors of homes. Crassulaceae are xerophilous plants characterized by sunken stamens, few stomata, a surface covered with a sort of wax-like structure and very thick skin. This conformation makes succulents suitable for dry, arid climates and characterized by long periods of drought, thanks to the ability to retain water inside the stems and release it when the succulent needs it. Each specimen belonging to the Crassulaceae family has a different aerial structure; one species is composed of a tall stem with branches on top and small succulent leaves; others have no real stem and develop horizontally.

Related posts

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Botón volver arriba